1 2 3
SV reX
SV reX MegaDork
7/23/24 3:23 p.m.

This one is for a house, not a car. 

I have an art degree, but honestly I'm not that great with colors. I could use some help.

I'm building an addition on my house, and I'm not sure I'm brave enough to follow through with what we started.

Here's the front elevation, but it's tricky. It looks like the whole facade is in one plane, but the front door is actually recessed a lot. 

Here's a pic of the actual building. The front porch roof isn't built yet.  We'll have to ignore the scaffolding and the old porch (which is still there):

We are going for a industrial/ modern vibe.  The majority of the house will be a very dark green, with a black roof and wood porch ceiling.  Like this:

My problem is that I don't want it to be just a big dark blob, and I don't want the front door (under the porch roof) to look like the  a black hole or dark cave.  I feel like we need to break it up a little with a lighter green or other color.

If I was brave, I'd paint the whole darned thing dark green and be done. I'm not that brave...

SV reX
SV reX MegaDork
7/23/24 3:24 p.m.

Specifically, the green is a Sherwin Williams color called Jasper.  SW6216. 

SV reX
SV reX MegaDork
7/23/24 3:25 p.m.

I want to get the painting done before we take down that scaffolding, so it's time to commit.

SV reX
SV reX MegaDork
7/23/24 3:27 p.m.

A couple more angles:

SV reX
SV reX MegaDork
7/23/24 3:29 p.m.

Interestingly, the original structure was a small general store/ bait shop. Under the vinyl siding is concrete block- we will be exposing it again (and painting it)

Id kinda like to pay homage to the original building- perhaps a different color on the block. 

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/23/24 4:32 p.m.