White_and_Nerdy
White_and_Nerdy HalfDork
2/2/13 10:47 a.m.

I'm not in a position to do this in the near future, but I'm pondering working my way toward trying out motorcycle track days. Not racing, just lapping, HPDE type stuff.

Some background. I've been riding on the street for about 10 years. I did the MSF basic course to get my license, and have ridden many many miles since then. I consider myself an average rider, as far as my abilities go. I've mostly ridden UJMs, and have made my way toward sport touring bikes with my Silverwing and now my PC800.

I used to do track days in cars. It was fun. It wasn't cheap, but I could afford it at the time. Then life changed, and though I've kept autocrossing on and off I haven't made it back to the track since.

After watching way too much Isle of Man TT footage on YouTube I'm pondering whether it might be easier and more economical to get back to the track on a bike than a car. My PC800 would be a poor choice for that, of course, so I'd be looking to pick up a small sporty bike mainly for that - something fun, but not super fast, like a Ninja or something comparable. Maybe a 500 - would a 250 be too small? From everything I've seen, the Ninja 250 is like the Miata of motorcycles - not too powerful but the handling is awesome. Though at 6'0", it may be physically too small for me.

Towing a bike to the track would be a no brainer - my P71 is already set up to tow, and I can build a Harbor Freight trailer. I already have riding gear - some upgrades may be in order before I head to the track, but those are upgrades I can use on the street and would be well worth it for both purposes.