1 2 3 4
fujioko
fujioko HalfDork
9/5/15 7:26 p.m.

My '96 Saturn SW-1 finally passed the ultimate POS threshold when the exhaust fell off a few days ago. The list of things wrong with the wagon is embarrassing when you consider I'm a decent mechanic. For the past few years, the wagon has pretty much been a garbage scow. The interior is covered with hydraulic fluid, kitty liter and cigarette butts. With 337K miles and years of deferred maintenance the car is beyond disgusting and is not fit for a dog to rid in.

So... time to buy another hooptie.

I really like Saturns because they are cheap and durable. After a few days of searching Craigslist, a 2002 SL with a SOHC and five speed caught my attention. Even though the SOHC engine is a slug, I prefer it. The five speed is absolutely necessary, because I never learned to drive an automatic.

$700.00 gets you this..... The car runs excellent and drives perfect!

Low miles and a half a tank of gas...that's what I'm talking about!

The car has some issues... it hit a guard rail. Blue duck tape is fine for a hooptie, but this is sort of an easy fix.

A quick search of the local pick & pull's online inventory indicated that they had 3rd gen Saturn in stock, unfortunately the color was listed as 'unknown'. 45 min latter this is what I found...Hmmm

UNKNOWN.... WTF?

Pick & pull was having a labor day weekend sale and everything was 50% off. The fender was $14.00. It will work until I can find a blue one.

The Miata is my only running vehicle and thankfully the fender was small enough to fit in the car. I always worry when I park outside a junkyard...My cars tend to questionable and could easily be mistaken for inventory...

Ok, let's take a look under the duck tape...It could be worse....

The bumper cover is berkeleyed.... however a little heat and some applied pressure usually gets 'em to look ok.