1 2 3 4
TheTick58
TheTick58 GRM+ Memberand New Reader
12/31/20 1:16 p.m.

Well, me for one!  (Spoiler alert) This is a project I've been working on for about 2 years now, and managed to get it on the road a couple months ago.  I've been keeping a build thread of sorts going on my local autocross forum, but that thread has a lot of... let's call it "local color" and inside jokes from the other locals.  I have been thinking I should move the actual build details somewhere else to make it more "build specific".

So, here I am!  My intention with this project was to have a fun and faster Miata that had OEM reliability.  Sure there are turbo kits out there that can make plenty of HP, but I wanted to be able to turn the key and not sweat whether the car was going to bring me home at the end of the day.  The 2.0 EcoBoost motor makes 240-250hp and 270lbft torque stock.  With the "Controls kit" from Ford Performance Produces, teh tune brings that to 270hp, and 350 lbft.  I figure that will be more than I'll ever "need", and likely more than I'll ever be able to use, while still being stone reliable.

So keep in mind this is a project that has 2 years in it already, so many of the "issues" discussed have been resolved already, but I'm always interested in hearing other ideas!

Just to help with some of the jokes that are tied into this whole thing...  I'm, well, OK, I'm cheap.  I've been autocrossing for many years, and one of my autocross friends dubbed my garage as "World head quarters of Frugal Racing Enterprises".  This resulted in all of my competition endeavors being under the banner of "F.R.E. Racing" with the catch phrase "It's not FREe, but it's close".  So when you see references to "Free with BOTH E's", that's what I'm refering to....

TheTick58
12/31/20 1:25 p.m.

(12-18-2018); Everyone loves a Miata am I right? What is it that the Miata is missing that should make it an even better...Miata? Yeah, more power.