deutschman
deutschman New Reader
10/23/11 4:26 p.m.

So I got this old MOMO wheel from my landlord for free and thought I would spend some time fixing it up. Seeing as I have never done this before I hopped on Google and thought I would find some quick answers. No such luck. I did how ever find that MOMO does not sell replacement leather for their wheels. So do you, oh venerable GRM, have any insight as to how I should proceed with fixing this wheel up a bit? I am not looking for originality or show room craftsmanship, and I want to do it my self. Maybe some one here has done this sort of thing themselves before? Is there a good company that sells the required odds and ends to put new leather on a steering wheel? Could I buy leather at a shop local and cut my own wheel rap out of it? I also managed to rip small pieces of foam out of the steering wheel grip when I removed the old leather. There really was no way around it. Is there a spray foam or something I could fill the holes with and then sand/cut down to match the rest of the wheel?

Here is the wheel.

The wheel originally has these grip extension that go down the steering wheel arms or what ever they are called. I want to cut them off like this.

Here are the worst of the ripped out chunks of foam.

Any advice, or links to threads where some one may have covered this topic would be sooo helpful! Thanks all!

stuart in mn
stuart in mn SuperDork
10/23/11 4:47 p.m.

Alan Gunn sells restoration products for steering wheels. http://aglausa.com/p/home.html

deutschman
deutschman New Reader
10/23/11 4:57 p.m.

Sweet. Thanks

fasted58
fasted58 SuperDork
10/23/11 5:02 p.m.

Wheelskins wrap?

http://www.wheelskins.com/

NOHOME
NOHOME HalfDork
10/23/11 5:31 p.m.

Use what you took off as a pattern. You need to learn how to hand sew.

ditchdigger
ditchdigger Dork
10/23/11 5:59 p.m.