TR8owner
TR8owner Reader
5/5/11 9:06 p.m.

They really look like fun, especially with a V8 conversion, but what is the quality like? I've always dreamed of a 62-64 Ferrari 250 GTO as the absolute ultimate Ferrari, but without an extra ten million cash in my pocket, a 240Z conversion almost seems like the next best thing.

What do you guys know about these kits?

aussiesmg
aussiesmg SuperDork
5/5/11 9:08 p.m.

They can look really good, end of my knowledge

ain't I helpful

TR8owner
TR8owner Reader
5/5/11 9:11 p.m.

In reply to aussiesmg:

Good on ya mate, I agree, they do look good. The kits have been around for awhile, so I'm wondering what the state of the art is.

JoeyM
JoeyM SuperDork
5/5/11 9:21 p.m.

I have no personal knowledge of the subject, but I suppose all the standard early z answers would apply; i.e. swap in the L28, but put the L24 head on top, etc.

Luke
Luke SuperDork
5/5/11 9:24 p.m.

Remember this car from the old board?

http://archive.grassrootsmotorsports.com/board/viewtopic.php?id=11869

280Z-based GTO with a BMW V12

aussiesmg
aussiesmg SuperDork
5/5/11 9:28 p.m.

carguy123
carguy123 SuperDork
5/5/11 9:33 p.m.

Have one!

It depends upon the kit. The weak link in the whole thing is the Z donor. It's quite a floppy chassis and it takes a lot of work to make it firm enough to really put down any power. Heaven forbid you cut the roof off to make a vert.

The standard engine is a boat anchor so the V8 conversion doesn't add that much weight. The rear end doesn't stand up to much power so many people upgrade the diff, but then you really have to reinforce the rear suspension area or things get all twisted out of shape.

The older V8s with distributors leave you with a less than ideal engine position, but I'm intrigued about putting a newer LSx engine in one.