PorschesOnTheCheap
PorschesOnTheCheap New Reader
1/18/09 7:18 a.m.

Just a quick post before I impulse-buy yet another stupid car...

A friend of mine has a rust-free but non-running 1982 Toyota Supra that I can buy for next to nothing. I've always been more of a German car guy and I don't know much about Toyotas.

I'm liking the older RWD Japanese stuff more and more, and I like that it's got a straight-6 and RWD. What do you guys think?

4cylndrfury
4cylndrfury New Reader
1/18/09 7:45 a.m.

older supras> newer supras. Plenty of parts available, and newer straight sixes from Toyota are plentiful and not that expensive (thanks Lexus IS models!). Personally I think Toyota makes well thought out, long lasting stuff. I think suspension stuff may be a hassle to find however. Im not a Supra expert though. This is just what I learned in my Toyota-modding days (corollas mostly). Should make a good project. Keep us posted. 80s japanese cars have some of the coolest styling IMHO.

ZOOMiata
ZOOMiata GRM+ Memberand Dork
1/18/09 7:45 a.m.

If you have the skills to repair it and the place to store it I'd say go for it. Toyota is certainly not making any more of them, and they're really quite charming, in a Transformers kind of way.

Can you answer this question: "Why wouldn't you buy it?"

NYG95GA
NYG95GA Dork
1/18/09 7:47 a.m.
PorschesOnTheCheap wrote: it's got a straight-6 and RWD.

That should do it. What's to wonder?

aussiesmg
aussiesmg HalfDork
1/18/09 8:14 a.m.

Is this the first one based on the Celica?

driver109x
driver109x Reader
1/18/09 10:58 a.m.

I almost bought one. I love the flares and rear spoiler/visor.

PorschesOnTheCheap
1/18/09 11:39 a.m.

Well, I've got the skills to repair it and the place to put it, but in response to ZooMiata's question,

ZOOMiata wrote: Can you answer this question: "Why wouldn't you buy it?"