1 2
former520
former520 HalfDork
12/27/18 10:18 p.m.

So for an end of the wold as we know it idea, how about a battery powered vehicle with solar and steam powered generator.

Idea is, you cannot always sit around for a panel to power you up, toss in some wood, fire up the boiler and use some good old fashion steam to turn a  generator and charge the batteries.  You can charge at night while resting, through rain or snow and should be quicker than panels.

Question is, what would be the best way to implement?  Put batteries in a truck or suburban vehicle and tow boiler?  How big a boiler would one need?

Go bus size and gear down electric motors for less demand, multiple packs for further range.

How would you garage build an electric end of world rig?

Floating Doc
Floating Doc GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/27/18 10:29 p.m.

I have extensive experience with this. Operates in nearly all weather conditions, fuel is readily available, and I can service it myself.

stanger_missle
stanger_missle GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
12/27/18 10:49 p.m.

In reply to Floating Doc :

Plus it doubles as a food source if stuff really hits the fan laugh.

Floating Doc
Floating Doc GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/27/18 10:51 p.m.
stanger_missle said:

Plus it doubles as a food source if stuff really hits the fan laugh.

Yep, can't say I've tried it, though.

Edit: that's an old photo, training at Pompano Park in about 1981. I drove my last race in 86, haven't been a horseman for many years.

stanger_missle
stanger_missle GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
12/27/18 11:03 p.m.

Me either but I would to survive.

That reminds me of this classic:

I always thought a vehicle modified with a wood gasifier would be a pretty sustainable method of transportation. I got really into post apocalyptic survival stuff about 10 years ago. I downloaded plans to convert a pickup truck to a wood gasifier. I never did try to build one.