Wayslow
Wayslow HalfDork
10/15/18 4:40 p.m.

I haven’t built a plastic model in at least 30 years but I had a weak moment and bought this off Amazon. Now my question is who makes the best adhesive and paint these days? Tamiya recommends their stuff and I have no issue with that but I’m looking for some advice because I know there are a few people on here who’ve built some really nice models. This thing came with some really nice photo etch bits that I have no experience with. I want to take my time and build this right. I got to see the real thing run at Mosport many years ago and it left an impression.

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
10/15/18 5:24 p.m.

There are newer style glues, very thin, almost watery. Instead of slathering on the glue, you mate the two pieces togetger, and dab a bit near the joint, and it wicks it's way along the join. Its awesome. 

ultraclyde
ultraclyde PowerDork
10/15/18 6:01 p.m.

Interested too. I did a lot of models back in the day and was an IPMS member but real cars took over. When I bought the Mustang in 05 I picked up a plastic kit version too. It's still waiting because I have no supplies at all.

Dave M
Dave M New Reader
10/15/18 6:04 p.m.

In reply to Wayslow :

Tamiya products are generally very high quality and not cheap, although compared to stuff for real cars it's all dirt cheap.

Your biggest challenge will be getting a good finish on the car without an airbrush. Tamiya makes some good spray acrylics which could with for a car finish.

Wayslow
Wayslow HalfDork
10/15/18 6:44 p.m.

I have an airbrush but I haven’t used it in about 30 years as well. I guess I’ll be doing some practice painting

Apis Mellifera
Apis Mellifera HalfDork
10/15/18 6:53 p.m.
Cousin_Eddie
Cousin_Eddie HalfDork
10/15/18 7:18 p.m.

Tamiya building supplies are always a safe bet for quality and consistency. I've never been disappointed in any of them, whether adhesives or paint.

vwcorvette
vwcorvette GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
10/15/18 9:02 p.m.

Go here.