1 2
Enyar
Enyar Dork
11/24/15 8:27 a.m.

Part 2 in the new house chronicles:

My house was built in 1980 and at the time it was a good idea to make all spaces seem as small and uncomfortable as possible. A good way to do this was to lower the ceiling and create a cave like structure which calls upon our prehistoric roots.

I got the message...and I don't like the way the caveman lived. Therefore I need to rip out 3 drop ceilings in my house. One in each bathroom and one in the kitchen. The ceiling in the master bath seems to be the smallest with no electrical or anything to worry about so I'll begin there.

I've never done drywall before. As I understand, I need to do the following but I'm really hoping you can fill in the gaps:

1. Put on a facemask and goggles for the impending shower of insulation and crap coming from the ceiling.
  2. Punch a hole in ceiling drywall
  3. Removed /cut all the drywall out as well as supporting structure behind it
  4. Replace the 2x4s which span across the now hole length wise of the bathroom
  5. Cut a rectangular piece of drywall (need the specific kind for bathrooms), attach to the 2x4s with drywall screws
  6. Use fiberglass tape on seems/corners.
  7. Apply mud on tape
  8. Sand
  9. Paint

Am I missing anything? Any tips? Anything in particular I need to do to keep this to code?

bluej
bluej GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
11/24/15 8:37 a.m.

There's likely a whole bunch of stuff up above that finished ceiling. Have a plan for how you're going to handle wiring, hvac, etc..

Enyar
Enyar Dork
11/24/15 9:57 a.m.

I've poked around up there quite a bit. As far as I can tell there is nothing but insulation.

That changes in the other bathroom and the kitchen. I'll revisit GRM which I tackle those areas but I want to learn the drywall / framing aspect of it first.

Bumboclaat
Bumboclaat Dork
11/24/15 9:59 a.m.

Just so we are all on the same page here, what you are dealing with is called a soffit.

This is a drop ceiling:

KyAllroad