LanEvo
LanEvo GRM+ Memberand Dork
9/30/23 3:52 p.m.

Hi, guys.

I have a lot of experience hosting track events. I used to be the chief instructor and primary event chair for a large chapter of the BMW CCA.

But I also like to drive on the street on interesting back roads and stuff. Not necessarily in a hardcore, track-focused car. I've been looking for fun rally or "spirited driving tour" type events. I'm thinking: meet at a specific location on a weekend morning; cruise through a pre-selected route; then loop back to the starting point for lunch or something.

No one seems to host events like that around here. I'd like to try to put something like this together through the local BMW CCA chapter or maybe one of the exotic clubs, like the Aston Martin Owner's Club (AMOC). Does anyone have experience organizing/hosting events like this?

We did things like that in the 70's.... before lawyers and expensive liability insurance.   4 page waivers and the such.  Now. everyone is afraid one smiling happy person will ruin the whole day.

Good luck.   You need a starting point that will hold all the expected cars, and a like destination (usually a business that will sell food and drink.)  A bit of common sense helps... don't route 100 street rods past churches on Sunday morning, etc.

Maybe involve a charity in something like a poker run.  5 planned stops that can handle the traffic without causing a jam.  Sometimes a small rural village will be glad for you to come in and spend money... as long as you don't hold burn-out contests and the such.

02Pilot
02Pilot PowerDork
10/2/23 9:22 a.m.