1 2 3 ... 5
roninsoldier83
roninsoldier83 GRM+ Memberand Reader
10/10/23 1:15 p.m.

So, I've been running autocross and time trials for a few years now (I don't have anywhere to park a trailer, which has kept me away from the wheel-to-wheel money pit). During that time, I've had a ton of fun and met quite a few great people! I've also had quite a bit of pain (particularly my lower back & hip), frustration/stress and thrown away more money than I care to think about. I do wonder to myself: how in the world do people afford this hobby? I'm pretty sure a crack cocaine habit might be cheaper. 

I sometimes come to the point where I wonder: is the occasional fun automotive outing worth the hardship that it costs? Do any of you ever come to the same conclusion? 

I started in autocross with the SCCA, like I assume most of you did. There's a lot to like about the SCCA, particularly in the Street classes: mods are kept to a minimum, which helps the cost not get out of hand. Or so it might seem. It's all fun and games until you start getting competitive... then you find yourself somehow justifying $800+ on a single splined sway bar, or $3000-$4000+ on a set of shocks in your "Street" car because the class allows it and you're trying to gain every advantage possible... to say nothing of the cost of tires, or that lightweight set of OEM sized wheels to save 2-3 lbs per corner. But still, the money spent on mods can be cheap compared to other forms of racing...